Young Researcher Travel Awards

  The 10th ICSA International Conference

                                  Young Researcher Travel Awards

The 10th ICSA International Conference will be held from Monday December 19 to Thursday, December 22, 2016 at Xuhui campus of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China. For more detailed information, please visit the conference website at

Young researcher participation is a significant component of the 10th ICSA international conference. To encourage young researchers to participate and share their research at the conference, the conference program committee will offer Young Researcher Travel Awards.

Sponsors: In addition to International Chinese Statistical Association (ICSA), the award is co-sponsored by American Statistical Association (ASA), the International Society for Biopharmaceutical Statistics (ISBS), and International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA).

Qualification:(i) The applicant must be a member of at least one of the  associations (ICSA, ASA, ISBS, and ISBA) at the time of manuscript submission;  (ii) the applicant must be a junior researcher who obtained his or her PhD or equivalent degree after December 1, 2011, or a postdoc during the fall 2016 at an accredited institute, or a doctoral degree candidate in any term during the academic year of 2016-2017 at an accredited institute; and  (iii) the applicant must be able to register and present the research work at the 10th ICSA International Conference.

Manuscript Requirement: The manuscript should be prepared double spaced using Biometrics or JASA guidelines for authors in English. Excluding tables and figures, the manuscript must be no more than 20 pages, with at least one-inch for all margins and no smaller than 12-point font. The research work must be relevant to application in a variety of fields including biomedicine, finance, business, and statistical data science, etc. The manuscript may be co-authored with a small number of collaborators, but the applicant must be the leading author (first or corresponding author). The manuscript must not be published or accepted at the time of submission.

Submission of Manuscript: Manuscript should be received no later than 11:59PM, US EST, June 1, 2016. The submission should include: 

 A cover letter including the submission information and acceptance status if you have submitted

    your   paper to the conference (either to an invited or contributed session); 

 A separate title page with author(s), institutional affiliation, mailing address, phone/fax numbers and

     email   address; 
A separate page of abstract;

A blind copy of the manuscripts without author information or affiliation; 

 At least one certificate of the good standing membership status of ICSA, ASA, ISBS, and ISBA;


 A supporting letter from the supervisor or the department head/chair for a non-student applicant

    including the postdoc, asserting the eligibility (the date of the PhD degree or the status of postdoc),

    or  an academic advisor for a student applicant, asserting the applicant’s student status and leading


All materials should be packaged into one .zip file and sent by email with subject “Young Researcher Award  Competition” to the coordinator of the Young Researcher Award Committee at          

Withdraw and Disqualification: Applicants are free to withdraw their submissions at any time. However, if the same paper is also submitted for other competitions and wins other award(s) in any other major statistical conferences such as JSM 2016, 2016 ISBA World Meeting, and the 25th ICSA Applied Statistics Symposium etc. before the winners will be announced for the conference, the applicant should notify the award committee timely and withdraw the paper.

Review and Selection Process: Members of the Young Researcher Award Committee will receive blind manuscripts from the Committee Chair /Coordinator and review them based on the following criteria:

The manuscript should be well motivated by an application to the specific field(s);

The methodology developed should be applicable to the motivating problem. Inclusion of an

    application to a practical study will be favorably considered; and

Organization and clarity of the presentation will be considered as well.

Awards: Up to twelve young researcher award winners will be selected. Each winner will receive a plaque sponsored by SJTU, an award for travel and registration reimbursement up to 4800 RMB (approximately 800 US dollars subject to change in exchange rates) or a cash award of 4000 RMB, whichever is bigger. Winners will be notified around August 1, 2016.


  Young Researcher Award Committee 

Chair:  Ying Lu, Stanford University, Email:
Committee Coordinator: Lin Fei, University of Cincinnati,

Committee Members:
Haim Bar, University of Connecticut,
Mário de Castro, Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil,

Dongseok Choi, Oregon Health & Science University,
Yili Hong, Virginia Tech,
Yveon Huang, University of Maryland Baltimore County,
Jun Li, University of California, Riverside,
Weidong Liu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University,
Sheng Lou, University of Texas Houston,
Satoshi Morita, Kyoto University,

Peter Qian, University of Wisconsin-Madison,
Alexandra M. Schmidt, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro,

Xin Shi, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK,

Dejun Tang, Novartis, China,
Ouhong Wang, Amgen, China,
Joong-Ho Won, Soeul National University,
Yuping Zhang, University of Connecticut,