Sessions:11-20


11.New Development in Hypothesis Testing

Organizer and Chair: Cheng Yong Tang, Temple University, Email: yongtang@temple.edu

Speaker 1: Wanjie Wang, National University of Singapore, Email: staww@nus.edu.sg
Title: Phase Transitions for Clustering, Signal Recovery and Hypothesis Testing

Speaker 2:  Bin Guo, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, Email: guobin@swufe.edu.cn
Title:  Two Sample Thresholding Test for High Dimensional Covariance Matrices

Speaker 3: Jing He, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, 

Email:  he_jing@swufe.edu.cn
Title:  High Dimensional Two-Sample Covariance Matrix Testing via Super-Diagonals

Speaker 4: Jinyuan Chang, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics,
Email: jinyuan.chang@unimelb.edu.au
Title: Simulation-Based Hypothesis Testing of High Dimensional Means under Covariance
Heterogeneity – an Alternative Road to High Dimensional Tests

12.  New Methods for Analyzing High Dimensional Data

Organizers: Cheng Yong Tang, Temple University, Email: yongtang@temple.edu, and
Yichao Wu, North Carolina State University, Email: wu@stat.ncsu.edu
Chair: Yichao Wu, North Carolina State University, Email: wu@stat.ncsu.edu

Speaker 1: Yiyuan She, Florida State University, Email: yshe@stat.fsu.edu 
Title: Slow Kill for Big Data Screening or Additive Overparametrization with Shrinkage for
Multivariate Non-Gaussian Learning

Speaker 2: Seung Jun Shin, Korea University, Email: sjshin@korea.ac.kr
Title: Penalized Principal Logistic Regression for Sparse Sufficient Dimension Reduction

Speaker 3: Rui Song, North Carolina State University, Email: rsong@ncsu.edu
Title: Variable Selection Methods for Developing Dynamic Treatment Regimes

Speaker 4: Junhui Wang, City University of Hong Kong, Email: junhwang@cityu.edu.hk
Title: Model-free Variable Selection in RKHS

13.  Statistical Challenges for Big data in Medical Research

Organizer: Xiao-Feng Wang, Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute,
Email: wangx6@ccf.org
Chair: Bin Wang, University of South Alabama, Email: bwang@southalabama.edu

Speaker 1: Jiayang Sun, Case Western Reserve University, Email: jsun@case.edu
Title: nFCA for Discovering Potential Pathways in Lung and Ovarian Cancers: Interfacing
R with Rudy and Graphviz

Speaker 2: Ying Wei, Columbia University, Email: yw2148@cumc.columbia.edu
Title: High-Dimensional Bias Correction with Applications in Drug Safety Monitory Using
Electronic Health Records

Speaker 3: Shuangge Ma, Yale University, Email: shuangge.ma@yale.edu

                    Xingjie Shi, Nanjing University  of Finance and Economics

Title: Integrated Analysis of Multidimensional Omics Data

Speaker 4: Xiao-Feng Wang, Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute,
Email: wangx6@ccf.org
Title: Multi-Modal Data Integration and Joint Learning in Lung Cancer Detection

14.  Statistical Challenges in Neuroimaging and Related Areas

Organizer: Jian Zhang, University of Kent, Email: jz79@kent.ac.uk
Chair: Chunming Zhang, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Email: cmzhang@stat.wisc.edu

Speaker 1:  Gary Green, University of York, Email: Gary.green@ynic.york.ac.uk 
Title: Nonlinear Analysis in Neuroimaging

Speaker 2:  Zhigang Yao, National University of Singapore, Email: zhigang.yao@nus.edu.sg
Title: Statistical Approaches to Estimating the Number of Signal Sources in
Magnetoencephalography

Speaker 3: Linglong Kong, University of Alberta, Email: lkong@ualberta.ca
Title: Quantile Regression with Varying Coefficients for Functional Responses


Speaker 4: Jian Zhang, University of Kent, Email: jz79@kent.ac.uk
Title: Inferring Functional Brain Networks with MEG Data

15.  New advances in inference for time series and econometric modeling

Organizers: Zudi Lu, University of Southampton, Email: Z.Lu@soton.ac.uk, and
Jian Zhang, University of Kent, Email: jz79@kent.ac.uk
Chair: Zudi Lu, University of Southampton

Speaker 1: Jia Chen, University of York, Email:  jia.chen@york.ac.uk
Title: Estimation of Principal Functional Coefficient Models in Panel Data

Speaker 2: Degui Li, University of York, Email: degui.li@york.ac.uk 
Title: Nonparametric Kernel Inference of Varying-Coefficient Models with Multivariate
Integrated Regressors

Speaker 3: Zeng-hua (Zen) Lu, University of South Australia, Email: Zen.Lu@unisa.edu.au 
Title: Bahadur Intercept with Applications to One-Sided Testing

Speaker 4: Zudi Lu, University of Southampton, Email: Z.Lu@soton.ac.uk
Title: On Asymptotic Optimality of the Cross-Validation Selected Bandwidth for Complex
Spatial Data: Case of Density Estimation

16. Modern Bayesian Methods in Big Data and Precision Medicine

Organizer: Yuan Ji, NorthShore University HealthSystem; The University of Chicago, Email: YJi@health.bsd.uchicago.edu
Chair: Lynn Kuo, University of Connecticut, lynn.kuo@uconn.edu

Speaker 1: Dipak K. Dey, University of Connecticut, Email: dipak.dey@uconn.edu
Title: Bayesian Sparse Reduced Rank Multivariate Regression

Speaker 2: Juhee Lee, University of California Santa Cruz, Email: juheelee@soe.ucsc.edu
Title: Bayesian Inference for Intra-Tumor Heterogeneity Using DNA-seq Data

Speaker 3: Yuan Ji, NorthShore University HealthSystem; The University of Chicago, Email: YJi@health.bsd.uchicago.edu
Title: Bayesian Subgroup Inference for Precision Medicine

Speaker 4: Ming-Hui Chen, University of Connecticut, Email: ming-hui.chen@uconn.edu
Title:Bayesian Modeling and Inference for Nonignorably Missing Longitudinal Binary

   Response Data with Applications to HIV Prevention Trials 

17.  New Methods for Analyzing Functional Data

Organizers: Ming-Yen Cheng, National Taiwan University, Email: cheng@math.ntu.edu.tw,
and Yichao Wu, North Carolina State University, Email: wu@stat.ncsu.edu
Chair: Yichao Wu, North Carolina State University, Email: wu@stat.ncsu.edu

Speaker 1: Hans Mueller, University of California at Davis, Email: hgmueller@ucdavis.edu
Title: Modeling multivariate functional Data

Speaker 2: Jane-Ling Wang, University of California at Davis, Email:
janelwang@ucdavis.edu
Title: From Sparse to Dense Functional Data and Beyond

Speaker 3: Fang Yao, University of Toronto, Email: fyao@utstat.toronto.edu
Title: On Representation and Density for Functional Data: A Mixture Approach

Speaker 4: Wenyang Zhang, University of York, Email: wenyang.zhang@york.ac.uk
Title: Factor Models for Asset Returns Based on Transformed Factors

18.  New Advances for Hypothesis Testing for High-Dimensional Data

Organizer and Chair: Jin-Ting Zhang, National University of Singapore, Email:
stazjt@nus.edu.sg

Speaker 1: Tiejun Tong, Hong Kong Baptist University,  Email: tongt@hkbu.edu
Title: Shrinkage-Based Diagonal Hotelling's Tests for High-Dimensional Small Sample
Size Data

Speaker 2: Yingli Qin, University of Waterloo, Email: yingli.qin@uwaterloo.ca
Title: Hypothesis Testing for High-Dimensional Covariance Matrices

Speaker 3: Long Feng, Nankai University, Email: flnankai@126.com.
Title: Rank-Based Score Tests for High-Dimensional Regression Coefficients

Speaker 4: Muni S. Srivastava, University of Toronto, Email: srivasta@utstat.toronto.edu
Title: Analysis of a Growth Curve Model in High Dimension

19.  Recent Advances in High-dimensional Data Analysis

Organizer and Chair: Shurong Zheng, Northeast Normal University, China, Email:
zhengsr@nenu.edu.cn

Speaker 1: Jianfeng Yao, The University of Hong Kong, Email: jeffyao@hku.hk
Title: On Singular Value Distribution of Large-Dimensional Autocovariance Matrices

Speaker 2: Liping Zhu, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, Email:
zhu.liping@mail.shufe.edu.cn; zhulp1@hotmail.com
Title: Cumulative Divergence: From Marginal Screening to Forward Regression

Speaker 3: Lilun Du, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China, 
Email: dulilun@ust.hk

Title: A Factor-Adjusted Multiple Testing Procedure with Application to Mutual Fund Selection

Speaker 4: Shan Luo, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Email: sluomath@sjtu.edu.cn
Title: Hypothesis Testing for High-dimensional Regression Models

20.  Recent Statistical Analytics for Big Data in Finance

Organizer and Chair: Ying Chen, National University of Singapore, Email:
stacheny@nus.edu.sg

Speaker 1: Linlin Niu, Xiamen University, Email: linlin.niu@gmail.com
Title: The German Yield Curve amid the Euro Area Debt Crisis: Safety Haven vs. Risk Pool

Speaker 2: Wolfgang Karl Härdle, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany, Email:
stat@wiwi.hu-berlin.de
Title: CRIX - a Crypto Currency Index

Speaker 3: Ray-Bing Chen, National Cheng Kung University, Email:
rbchen@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Title: On the Determinants of the 2008 Financial Crisis: A Bayesian Approach to the
Selection of Groups and Variables

Speaker 4: Ying Chen, National University of Singapore, Email:
stacheny@nus.edu.sg
Title: Modeling Seasonality and Serial Dependence of Electricity Price Curves with Warping Functional Autoregressive Dynamics