Sessions:151-160


151. SSC Sponsored Invited Session: “Statistical Challenges and Advances in Large-Scale Inference”
Organizer and Chair: Kun Liang, University of Waterloo, Email: kun.liang@uwaterloo.ca
Speaker 1: Zeny Feng, University of Guelph, Email: zfeng@uoguelph.ca
Title: A Simultaneous Genetic Association Analysis with Multiple Traits/Longitudinal Traits

Speaker 2: Dan Cheng, Texas Tech University, Email: cheng.stats@gmail.com

Title: Multiple Testing of Local Maxima for Detection of Peaks in Random Fields

Speaker 3: Jianan Peng, Acadia University, Email: jianan.peng@acadiau.ca
Title: Multiple Confidence Intervals for Selected Parameters Adjusted for the False
Coverage-Statement Rate in Dose-Response Microarray Experiments
Speaker 4: Kun Liang, University of Waterloo, Email: kun.liang@uwaterloo.ca
Title: False Discovery Rate Estimation with Covariates
152. SSC Sponsored Invited Session: “Statistical Analysis of Event History Data: Recent Advances and Current Challenges”
Organizer and Chair: Leilei Zeng, University of Waterloo, Email: lzeng@uwaterloo.ca
Speaker 1: Richard Cook, University of Waterloo,
Email: rjcook@uwaterloo.ca
Title: The Utility of Tracing Studies in Cohorts with Loss to Follow-up
Speaker 2: Joan Hu, Simon Fraser University, Email: joanh@sfu.ca
Title: Analysis of Event History Data in Forest Fire Control

Speaker 3: Masoud Asgharian Dastenaei, McGill University, Email: masoud@math.mcgill.ca
Title: Prevalent Cohort Studies: Length-Biased Sampling with Right Censoring

Speaker 4: Lang Wu, University of British Columbia, Email: lang@stat.ubc.ca

Title: Joint Models for Mixed Types of Longitudinal and Survival Data

153. Removing Effects of Confounding Variables

Organizer: Art Owen, Stanford University, Email: owen@stat.Stanford.EDU

 Chair: Jiahua Chen, University of British Columbia, Email: jhchen@stat.ubc.ca

Speaker 1: Johann Gagnon-Bartsch, University of Michigan, Email: johanngb@umich.edu; 
Title: Removing Unwanted Variation with Negative Controls

Speaker 2: Patrick Perry, NYU Stern School of Business, Email: pperry@stern.nyu.edu
Title: Multiple Regression with Latent Predictors

Speaker 3: Jingshu Wang, Stanford University, Email: jingshuw@stanford.edu
Title: Confounder Adjustment in Multiple Hypotheses Testing

Speaker 4: Gabriela Cohen Freue, University of British Columbia, Email: qcohen@stat.ubc.ca. 
Title: Addressing Confounding Factors Problems with Instrumental Variables
154. SSC and ICSA-Canada Chapter Sponsored Special Tutorial Session:
“Data Science: Who Cares?”
Organizer and Chair: Edward Chen, P. Stat, Statistical Society of Canada,
Email:  chenedw_00@yahoo.com

Speaker 1: S. Ejaz  Ahmed, Dean, Faculty of Mathematics and Science, Brock University, 
Canada, Email: dean.fms@brocku.ca
Title: Data Science: Challenges, Opportunities and Future Outlook

Speaker 2: Charmaine Dean, Dean, Faculty of Science, Western University, Canada,
Email: sciencedean@uwo.ca
Title: Data Science: Novel Training Programs
Discussant: Xiao-Li Meng, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Science, Harvard University,
Email: meng@stat.harvard.edu
 
155. Recent Advances in System Informatics Using Degradation Data
Organizer and Chair: Zhisheng Ye, National University of Singapore, Email: yez@nus.edu.sg
Speaker 1: Nan Chen, National University of Singapore, Email: isecn@nus.edu.sg
Title: A Wiener Process Model for Heterogeneous Degradations Based on Kriging
Speaker 2: Xiaosheng Si, Xi’an Institute of High-Tech, Email: sixiaosheng@gmail.com
Title: Degradation Modeling Based Prognostics for Systems with State Recoveries
Speaker 3: Zhaoqiang Wang, Xi’an Institute of High-Tech. zhaoqiangwang@126.com 
Title: Remaining Useful Life Prediction Method Considering Both Smooth Degradation and
Abrupt Damages
Speaker 4: Ancha Xu, Wenzhou University, Email: xuancha@wzu.edu.cn
Title: Objective Bayesian Analysis Accelerated Degradation Test Based on Wiener Process
Models
156. Random Fields in Statistics and Applications
Organizer and Chair: Yimin Xiao, Michigan State University, Email: xiaoyimi@stt.msu.edu
Speaker 1: Ethan Anderes, University of California at Davis, Email: anderes@ucdavis.edu
Title: Isotropic Random Fields and Point Processes on Graphs and Their Edges
Speaker 2: Xiaohong Lan, University of Science and Technology of China,
Email: xhlan@ustc.edu.cn
Title: Local Times and Related Properties of Gaussian Random Fields on the Sphere
Speaker 3: Wei Liem Loh, National University of Singapore, Email: stalohwl@nus.edu.sg
Title: Estimating the Smoothness of a Gaussian Random Field from Irregularly Spaced Data via
Higher-Order Quadratic Variations

Speaker 4: Domenico Marinucci, University of Rome “Tor Vergata”,
Email: marinucc@mat.uniroma2.it

Title: Convergence of Critical Points and Multiple Testing

157.  Recent Developments in Financial Econometrics
Organizer and Chair: Bingyi Jing, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: majing@ust.hk
Speaker 1: Yingying Li, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: yyli@ust.hk
Title: Recovering Mean-Variance Efficiency under Factor Model

Speaker 2: Guangying Liu, Nanjing Audit University, Email: liugying2007@gmail.com

Title: On Estimation of Hurst Parameter under Noisy Observations

Speaker 3: Cuixia Li, Lanzhou University, Email: licuixia@lzu.edu.cn
Title: Adaptive Thresholding for Large Volatility Matrix Estimation Based on High-Frequency
Financial Data
Speaker 4: Hanying Liang, Tongji University, Email: hyliang@tongji.edu.cn
Title: Quantile Regression for Partially Linear Varying-Coefficient Model with Censoring
Indicators Missing At Random
158.  Recent Developments in Network Data Analysis
Organizer and Chair: Bingyi Jing, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: majing@ust.hk
Speaker 1: Xianshi Yu, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: xyuai@connect.ust.hk
Title: Community Detection of Sparse Network
Speaker 2: Ting Li, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: tlial@connect.ust.hk
Title: Community Detection of Heterogeneous Networks
Speaker 3: Ningchen Ying, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,
Email: nying@connect.ust.hk
Title: Community Detection via Exponential Decaying Similarity Matrix
Speaker 4: Guangren Yang, Jinan University, Email: tygr@jnu.edu.cn
Title: Trimmed Estimators for Large Dimensional Sparse Covariance Matrices
159. High-Dimensional Big Data Integration with Biomedical Applications
Organizer and Chair: Hulin Wu, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston,
Email: Hulin.Wu@uth.tmc.edu
Speaker 1: Jinfeng Zhang, Florida State University, Email: jfzhang3@gmail.com
Title: BioKDE: A Platform for Biological Big Data Integration and Analysis
Speaker 2: Xia Wang, Shaanxi Normal University, Email: xinshijie1986@163.com
Title: Data Analysis and Control of the Transmission of Dengue in Guangzhou
Speaker 3: Hongyu Miao, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston,
Email: Hongyu.Miao@uth.tmc.edu
Title: Bi-level Event Detection in High-Dimensional Dynamic Systems

Speaker 4: Ningtao Wang, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston,
Email: Ningtao.Wang@uth.tmc.edu

Title: Composite Likelihood Inference on Stochastic Block Model for Big Networks

160. ICSA-New England Chapter Sponsored Invited Session: “Statistics in the Paradigm of      Precision Medicine Development”

Organizer: Mei-Hsiu Ling, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Email: Mei-hsiu_ling@vrtx.com
Chair: Xiaohong Huang, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Email: Xiaohong_huang@vrtx.com
Speaker 1: Lei Hua, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Email: Lei_hua@vrtx.com
Title: A Simulation Study Using MCP-Mod in a Phase IIb Dose-Ranging Study Design in a Rare
Disease
Speaker 2: Nitin Nair, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Email: Nitin_nair@vrtx.com
Title: Combo Rule in the Rare Disease Domain (Design and Testing Strategy)
Speaker 3: Yimeng Lu, Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Email: luy@alxn.com
Title: Bayesian Modeling in Phase II Dose-Escalation Study for an Ultra-Rare Disease

Speaker 4: Brian Claggett, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School,
       Email: bclaggett@partners.org

Title: Methods for Identifying Promising Subpopulations of Patients